Trials and Tribulations

I tried for eight years to get a job. My last three years of school I went to a special school for vocational training in the clerical field known as office services. I was mainly trained in mail room work but I did some printing. I also did collating, sorting, stapling, stamping, labeling, folding, stuffing envelopes, filing and typing labels on the computer. I took turns with my classmates doing data entry. I had on the job training which mainly consisted of mail room work such as what’s stated above.  When I graduated in 1993 at the age of 22, I still did not have a job.

Shortly after I graduated, I went to a job fair where they had several job vendors who are supposed to get jobs for disabled people. I worked with several different job vendors for several years to get a job. I look through the want ads and all the job openings required at least two years of work experience and this was for entry level jobs that did not require a college degree. Unfortunately, after the job assessments, I never heard back from the job vendors.  I was told there was funding  for me to get a job and train me to do the job but it seemed to fall through. I feel I wasted my time trying to find work and getting vocational training. After several different job assessments with several job vendors and no outcome, I gave up looking for work. People think I choose to stay home and not work because they think I’m lazy and I don’t want to work. They don’t know I wasted 8 years after I graduated from school looking for a job with no results. I’m not trying to be nasty or mean but I thought America was the land of opportunity but apparently I was wrong. America is not the land of opportunity for disabled low skilled and unskilled Americans like me because employers would rather hire able bodied low skilled and unskilled foreigners many who are here illegally so they can pay them slave wages under the table and they don’t have to pay for health insurance for them.

Many people including employers still believe if you are physically disabled you are somehow affected mentally too. I think we need to stop labeling the disabled as special needs. What’s special about the needs of disabled people? Everyone talks about gay rights, transgender rights and the rights of illegal immigrants who shouldn’t even be here but they don’t care about the rights of disabled Americans like me. I’m sorry if I offended anyone.

Categories: Random Posts | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Trials and Tribulations

  1. I wish you luck on finding a job that will appreciate you for you, and understand that you can be a valuable employee.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

