Able Bodied People Don’t Understand

I’m often harassed by able bodied people because I don’t work. They think I can work but I’m too lazy to get off my ass and get a job. These people are my family and friends. When I try to explain to them why I don’t work, they won’t even listen to me. They have already made up their minds about me and they think I’m a lazy bum. Because of my speech impairment, it’s hard for me to explain to them my reasons for not working. Like I said in a previous post, I wasted 8 years trying get a job when I was in my 20’s. It’s almost impossible to get a job when you have no work experience and very little to no job skills. I never really worked unless you can count on the job training as work experience. I don’t type fast enough to do data entry. I was told years ago I don’t qualify for the community services board or the disability services board because my IQ is too high. I’m too smart to work in some sheltered workshop or the employment office for just a few pennies a day. I don’t drive and paratranist which is for the disabled is unreliable and too expensive. I tried stuffing envelopes, collating,  sealing and labeling envelopes as well as sorting and filing when I was in school and I think it’s boring. It’s not something I would want to do for the next 60 years of my life.

Categories: Opinions, Random Posts | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Able Bodied People Don’t Understand

  1. Even though envelope stuffing and shredding bores you. It is job experience and will look good on your resume that you’ve atleast had some experience.

    • That’s true. I gave up trying to find a job years ago. Besides, I often have trouble peeing which would greatly interfere with me working.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

