I wasn’t told I had cerebral palsy till I was 60 – Paula’s story

This is a reblog from another blog. I hope you like it as much as I did.

Scope's Blog

Guest blog from Paula, who contacted our helpline earlier this year after learning she had cerebral palsy – at the age of 60. Until then, she had never received any kind of support. Here she shares her experience.

In January 2015, soon after my mother died, my sister called me and told me there was something she needed to tell me – that I have mild cerebral palsy, and that my mother had never told me. I am 60 years old, and I had known nothing about it until then.

I went to my GP and asked him to read me the medical notes from my birth. Sure enough, there it was.

My mother and I had not been in touch for 23 years, for many reasons. I will never know why she didn’t tell me.

There was more of a stigma around disability at that time, so maybe that…

View original post 494 more words

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

